Product imagery supplied by the retailer. Packaging may vary — verify the Supplement Facts panel on the container you receive.
Optimum Nutrition
Platinum Hydrowhey
Our analysis — editorial take, not from the label
The one Optimum Nutrition powder built on hydrolyzed whey isolate instead of whole whey, and the biggest scoop in the line - 30 g of protein, 15.5 g of essential amino acids and 8.8 g of BCAAs in 40 g, against Gold Standard 100% Whey's 24 g in 31 g - though its banned-substance mark is the brand's own rather than the Informed Choice certification Optimum Nutrition names for Gold Standard whey and isolate.
- Protein
- 30 g
- Protein by weight
- 75%
- Source
- hydrolyzed whey protein isolate
- Servings
- 40
Price tier: Premium · relative cost per full serving across this database
We don't list dollar prices — they change daily and go stale. Check the live price instead:
View current price at Amazon Compare all protein powdersScoop Sense doesn't collect user reviews and won't invent them. Read customer reviews on Amazon
Affiliate links — Scoop Sense may earn a commission at no additional cost to you.
Three flavors only - Velocity Vanilla, Turbo Chocolate and Supercharged Strawberry, all artificially flavored and sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium; figures are anchored to the Velocity Vanilla panel (40 g scoop, 140 calories) at the 3.5 lb / 40-serving size, which is sold in vanilla and chocolate only; the 1.76 lb tub is the same scoop at 20 servings, and Turbo Chocolate runs a 39 g scoop for the same 30 g of protein.
Label verified: September 2026 · View supplement facts image
Label data
Per full serving · 40 servings per container · from the manufacturer's panel
| Protein per serving | 30 g |
|---|---|
| Serving size | 40 g |
| Protein per scoop | 75% |
| Calories | 140 |
| Total carbohydrate | 3 g |
| Total fat | 1 g |
| Source | hydrolyzed whey protein isolate |
| Sweetener | sucralose + acesulfame K |
| Hydrolyzed whey protein isolate | 30 g protein |
| Added micronized BCAAs (L-leucine, L-isoleucine, L-valine) | added portion not stated on label |
| Creamer (sunflower oil, maltodextrin, modified food starch, dipotassium phosphate, tricalcium phosphate, tocopherols) | amount not stated on label |
| Sucralose and acesulfame potassium | amount not stated on label |
| Proprietary blend | No |
Primary label source: Optimum Nutrition - Platinum Hydrowhey product page (flavors, sizes, per-variant label images) · verified September 2026
Cautions
- Contains milk and soy
- Sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium; all three flavors are artificially flavored
- The Banned Substance Tested mark on the tub is Optimum Nutrition's own; the brand's support page names Gold Standard 100% Whey and Gold Standard 100% Isolate - not Platinum Hydrowhey - as its Informed Choice certified powders
Formulated for healthy adults — not intended for anyone under 18. Full health & safety notes
Product details
Where this label sits
Optimum Nutrition Platinum Hydrowhey is one of the protein powders in the Scoop Sense database. Every active ingredient on the panel is listed with its own dose — nothing is hidden inside a blend total. It runs 40 servings per container at the full labeled serving. Everything on this page comes from the manufacturer's supplement facts panel as of September 2026 — never from the marketing page.
Key ingredients & studied doses
- Hydrolyzed whey protein isolate · 30 g protein. Hydrolyzing pre-cleaves the whey into shorter fragments before it is packed, and 30 g per scoop sits in the upper half of the 20-40 g per-serving range used in muscle protein synthesis research.
- Added micronized BCAAs (L-leucine, L-isoleucine, L-valine) · added portion not stated on label. The panel's 8.8 g BCAA figure covers naturally occurring plus added and is counted inside the 30 g of protein, so how much sits on top of the whey is not disclosed.
- Creamer (sunflower oil, maltodextrin, modified food starch, dipotassium phosphate, tricalcium phosphate, tocopherols) · amount not stated on label. A non-protein creamer sits below the amino acids in the ingredient list; the tub claims 100 percent of the protein comes from hydrolyzed whey isolate, which covers the protein only, and the panel still shows 3 g of carbohydrate per scoop.
- Sucralose and acesulfame potassium · amount not stated on label. The two high-intensity sweeteners in the ingredient list; the panel shows 1 g of total sugars and calls added sugars not a significant source.
Flavors & sweetener
Three flavors only - Velocity Vanilla, Turbo Chocolate and Supercharged Strawberry, all artificially flavored and sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium; figures are anchored to the Velocity Vanilla panel (40 g scoop, 140 calories) at the 3.5 lb / 40-serving size, which is sold in vanilla and chocolate only; the 1.76 lb tub is the same scoop at 20 servings, and Turbo Chocolate runs a 39 g scoop for the same 30 g of protein.
Who it's best for
A standard-ratio powder — fine as a food supplement when total daily protein is what matters. Derived from the label figures above — not medical advice.
How we log this label
Every entry is built the same way: we read the current supplement facts panel, log each disclosed dose, compare it against the amounts used in published research, flag proprietary blends, and state the cautions plainly. The full methodology explains each step.
This label against the research
How we evaluate labelsEach bar shows the amount commonly used in published human research, and where this label's dose falls against it. Research amounts are context, not a recommendation — they are not doses, and nothing here is medical advice. The bars compare what the label states; we do not laboratory-test the product to confirm it.
-
Leucineundisclosed
This label does not state leucine on its own — it sits inside “Added micronized BCAAs (L-leucine, L-isoleucine, L-valine)”, disclosed only as a combined added portion not stated on label. A combined total is not a dose of anything named inside it, so there is nothing here to compare against the research. Studied amounts run 0.7 g to 3 g.
Source: Jäger et al., Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition 2017 — “Acute protein doses should strive to contain 700–3000 mg of leucine and/or a higher relative leucine content”
-
Protein30 g
At or above the studied amount0studied range 20 g–40 g50 g
Per-meal doses studied for muscle protein synthesis run about 20–40 g of high-quality protein, with the upper half of that range favoured for larger athletes and older adults.
Source: Jäger et al., Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition 2017 — “General recommendations are 0.25 g of a high-quality protein per kg of body weight, or an absolute dose of 20–40 g.”
Common questions about Optimum Nutrition Platinum Hydrowhey
How much of a Optimum Nutrition Platinum Hydrowhey scoop is actually protein?
30 g of protein from a 40 g serving — about 75%. The rest is flavoring, fats, carbs, and whatever else the label lists. A higher percentage means less filler per scoop.
Does Optimum Nutrition Platinum Hydrowhey disclose every dose?
Yes — the label lists an individual amount for each ingredient, with no proprietary blends. That is what the "label fully disclosed" tag on Scoop Sense means, and it is what lets each dose be compared against the amounts used in published research.